Happy New Year 2011

Happy 2011. I’m pretty sure that it qualifies as living in a sci-fi age to be able to say Happy 2011.

Coming into the new year, time for reflection on the past year and all that, no big party tonight for us.  We’ve spent Dec 31st sorting and cleaning stuff out of our apt, and discussing our dreams and goals (and enjoying a coffee at Solstice).  I am in a state of contentment and peace that I haven’t had in awhile. It’s a good head space to be in and I hope for it to continue.

I don’t hold with blaming a year for the problems that have been had. It wouldn’t be fair to 2010 to blame it for some of the stress that’s been in my life in the last while.  Besides, there have been some damn fantastic times this year too.

I have a part time job with a Podiatrist, Thanks to my sister in-law, admin assistant work, filing etc. The doc and the receptionist are a married couple who I like quite a bit. It is a bit funny to go from selling shoes to working with a podiatrist. I tell you there are some not so pretty feet in the world. Take care of your feet and love them.
It is a good job, but I will be keeping my eyes open for another part time job that suits as well.

It’s been noted that we have not been active in the SCA in the last year and a bit.  I have been in the SCA since i was a small child, around 5ish, I have seen it grow and change and bog down in red tape and politics.  Frankly, it’s just not been fun for me anymore.  There are some great people I don’t want to lose, but I am mostly done with it for now. Perhaps another post on that later.

What have we been doing? Well, we have been active in the regional Burning Man Community here in Vic. People are not afraid to play. Playing is very important to me! People are encouraging of each other and becoming a supportive community. (Yes, I did just take a drink)
The love and friendships we have developed in the burner community in such a short time is absolutely heart warming. ❤
This year was my first Burning Man, it wont be my last, there is no explaining it. Either you get it, or you don’t.

In the coming year,
My birthday is Sunday. I’m not dragging everyone to the bar with me this year.  I am enjoying the calm.  I may go to the RBCM. Sunday is the first day of entry by donation week.

Also this week I start my last anthropology class for my BA. I was suppose to finish it before, but sometimes life has other plans.  This time I am only doing the one class. No distraction with my art classes. Anth 419 Globalizing Culture, for those who are wondering.  I will be on VIU Campus one day a week.  Finishing my BA will be a great sense or relief. It’s been a long time coming.

There are big plans to attend Burning Man this year already in the works, and I will be looking into applying to Camosun in Fine arts for the fall.

Most importantly, I look forward to another year with my husband.

Cheers,
Megan

Published in: on December 31, 2010 at 8:29 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://burnerhobbits.wordpress.com/2010/12/31/happy-new-year-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy New Year! Happy Birthday! May they both be great ones for you and yours, from both of us.

    Nik & Linda

  2. Happy New Year Meg and Edd!
    I hope we get to have a good long visit in 2011.
    Good luck with your last class. I’m so jealous; 11 to go for my BRM and 5 to go for my other program, so at my slow pace I won’t be finishing anything this year.
    Love the blog!
    Jaimie

    • Hey Cuz!!!
      Long time no see.
      Let’s do that visit in the spring. We should do dinner on your side of the water, and invite that errant daughter of mine so you finally get to meet her. (she can usually be coaxed out with food) ♥ Edd

      • I would love it. Let us know when you guys are planning a trip to this side and we’ll make a vegetarian dinner date!
        j

  3. I’m super happy to have met you and Edd. Both of you are so
    very talented and fun and sweet. Good people, for sure. Much love
    to you both in the New Year!

    • Happy New Year to you too.
      We haven’t seen you in ages. We should do dinner or something to reconnect. ♥Edd


Leave a Reply

